Realizing Things

2016, in whole, was a year full of crazy politics and the passing of myriad celebrities.  Evidently, it was named one of the worst years in modern history. Regardless of how the year affected you, I think we can all agree that 2016 was an eye opening year, one that gave everyone their own challenges to overcome.

In a video for her app at the beginning of 2016, Kylie Jenner said, “I feel like every year has a new energy and I feel like this year is really about like the year of just realizing stuff and everyone around me, we’re just like realizing things. 2016, looking good.” This quote quickly became a meme all over the Internet due to its vague message and well, because the internet makes memes out of everything. Although I originally laughed at Jenner’s insight, after 2016 ended and the video slipped from the Internet’s interest, I began to really think about the quote, taking-in the underlying message.

Whether Jenner meant something by this quote or not, I think we can all agree that 2016 was a year of realization.  You might have realized that you want to major in politics due to the outcome of the election or might have realized that you wanted to give back to your community, through donating money or time.  Each person was affected in some way by 2016.

Now in 2017 and thinking about this quote, I was able to justify some of the decisions and thoughts that I made in 2016. In 2016, I welcomed my new cousin into the world.  I was able to go to Myrtle Beach and take it off my bucket list.  I made decisions to leave the negative friendships; and as a result, I grew closer to friends at school, many of them becoming my best friends.  I started to look at colleges and think about what I want to do with my life.  Looking back, with the decisions I made in 2016, I believe that I have found complete happiness in 2017.

There are many more important events that I could include but I think that the ones above were a good summary of my 2016. It’s hard to believe that I have uncovered these insights by just reading a vague quote from Kylie Jenner but I do think that it is possible to interpret her quote to fit your lifestyle. I guess even Kylie Jenner knows the truth about 2016.

So here’s to 2017, a year of success and happiness.

(featured image taken by Scott Trindle)

Emily Brazytis ‘18

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

